We’ve been discovered…

Great news. Entrants in the First Annual Itchy Ankle Writing Contest have been invited to join a Poet’s rally, courtesy of a patron of the arts called Jingle who is obviously deeply moved by the images evoked by our talented writers: Itchy Ankle in a time before running water and asphalt roads (ok, some places still don’t have asphalt, and at this time of year, many wells dug back in the 60s, 70s and 80s do run dry–but you get my general drift). It reads a little like a poetry pyramid system but, even if it’s vanity publishing, I am sure all my fledgling poets will embrace it. Certainly I intend to submit a haiku or two myself and I am sure Doris, (mistress of the Japanese art) will conjure up some syllables in tasteful groupings of 17. (Remember: 5, 7, 5) I suppose we could test the standard required by inviting Flo to send in a line or two…

Anyhow, must dash. Got to start thinking about my frock for the Pulitzers. Great oaks and all that…

Published by Liz Barron

Returned US Peace Corps Volunteer (Armenia 17-19). Permanent address in Washington DC. Deep roots in Northern Ireland and persistent Belfast accent. Blogger, cook, painter, mother, grandma, Scrabble-player and enthusiastic world traveller.

2 thoughts on “We’ve been discovered…

Leave a comment